Contest: Comment on My Cover Pages, Win a Dalai Lama Novel

I am gearing up to publish my first novel, FINDER OF LOST THINGS, and I’m predictably nervous. I’d like to recruit you wonderful readers to comment on the back cover blurb and cover image for the chance to win a brand-new hard copy of  The Dalai Lama’s Cat and the Art of Purring, the second book in David Michie’s series (check out my review of the first novel, The Dalai Lama’s Cat). To enter, write at least a 25-word comment below by Dec. 27, 2013, and I’ll enter you into the drawing.

Here’s the front cover and the back cover text. I’m most interested in getting your take on the back cover blurb, since it’s arguably the most important element in selling a book:

FINDER OF LOST THINGSFinder of Lost Things by PJ Swanwick metaphysical novel

WHAT IF A PERSON COULD REMEMBER LIFE BETWEEN LIVES–THE LIFE OF THE SOUL?

Lila Chance must find a missing child who has a secret gift . . . a gift so profound and powerful it could change the course of history. Unfortunately for the missing boy, Lila is not the only one looking for him.

Lila lives a quiet life in Boulder, Colorado, ghost-writing amazingly accurate and engaging eulogies. Then an astonishing message from the missing child blows away everything she believes in, tumbling her down the rabbit hole of metaphysical discovery.

When she finds out the missing boy may hold the key to finding her own kidnapped son, Lila will stop at nothing to uncover the truth.

Part old-fashioned mystery, part new age exploration, FINDER OF LOST THINGS is an entertaining and intriguing look at the mysteries of relationships, the meaning of existence, and the most enigmatic question of all: What is life between lives?

Award-winning author P.J. Swanwick lives with her family near Boulder, Colorado. She writes on a wide variety of topics that interest her, such as where neuroscience and psychology intersect with metaphysics, spirituality, and creativity. In addition to writing, she manages Fiction for a New Age, which reviews metaphysical, spiritual, and visionary novels.

Visit the author at http://FictionForANewAge.com or http://pjswanwick.com.

Well? What do you think? Add your 25 words’ worth in the Comments section and perhaps win a hard copy of The Dalai Lama’s Cat and the Art of Purring. And while you’re at it, check out my Facebook page at https://www.facebook.com/pages/New-Age-Fiction.

Thank you, dear readers! I’ll announce the winner on Dec. 30, 2013.

16 thoughts on “Contest: Comment on My Cover Pages, Win a Dalai Lama Novel

  1. Hi PJ:
    Congrats!!
    Not sure I agree that in this era of Ebooks and online buying that the front cover isn’t more important than the back. I suggest putting that first line on the front, but maybe tweaking to “What if you could remember your life between your lives?” (Beautiful cover, btw)
    Also, maybe clarify more with a “like Murder She Wrote meets The Matrix” or whatever to give a better sense for the style?

    • Thank you so much for the helpful feedback, Meryl! I was told that it was important to have a great cover that looks good in thumbnail size in order to get people to click the link, and then the blurb becomes important. How do you feel about that?

      Also, I just read an article that Amazon is taking down books with descriptions that refer to other books (sometimes without notifying the author!), but it’s a good suggestion to try to clarify the style. Hope you’re having a great holiday season.

  2. You explanation of your story is good. I think it will attracted both readers of mysteries and new age, with several others too. I think I might have found a typo in your second paragraph: ‘… finding her to her own kidnapped son,’. It reads odd to me.

    • Glynis, you won the random drawing! Please send me your mailing address at newagefiction AT gmail DOT com, and I’ll ship it to you right away. Thanks again for your feedback.

  3. Pingback: You create your own reality | Fiction for a New Age

  4. There are some prizewinning, and I mean International/Nobel Prize type prize-winners who have ‘Thing’ or Things’ in their titles. It depends, I think, on how it is used. (The cover image however does bring to mind that which appears on my Nokia mobile, though. Not too original!)

  5. Re the unfortunate comment ‘trite’. The word ‘Thing or Things’ has been used several times in the last decade or so by quality fiction authors – International prize-winners with a strong reputation. Maybe it depends on the way it is used. However, as far as the cover is concerned, it brings to my mind the image which opens my Nokia mobile, so not exactly original! The story line sounds interesting.

      • Apologies for my comment coming up twice! It didn’t appear the first time and I waited 48 hrs to see if it did. Then I entered it again fm memory, and lo and behold…!
        I just wondered how you arrived at your cover. Did you get it done professionally? All 4 of my covers have been my own work, altho I asked 3 professionals in the first place, but was v disappointed with their results. Eventually an artist friend encouraged me to do them myself. I am a trained artist, but not in graphics: I trained as a sculptor. Even now, I’m not happy with my own work, and am planning to have another go at one of them,

  6. I had the cover professionally done, but I provided the general design and images. I’m not sure at all if that was the right way to go, but it was relatively inexpensive and I got the results I expected. You’re lucky you have an artist’s background!

  7. The aesthetic in general of the images on the front cover is good, in my opinion, as is the choice of type-face. It is classical, clear and simple. No quarrels at all with that. As a sculptor I did learn about carved letter-cutting the practical way; mallet and chisel!; Roman alphabet, and modern Gill Sans. So I have a feel for it.

Leave a Reply

